Sunday, September 18, 2011

Quieres ir a BOWLING?!

I promised more updates, and while they certainly won't be daily, I'll try and make sure all of the interesting stuff makes it on to here :)

Today was a pretty swell day for me! It started at 7:30am, when my host mom woke me up to ask if I truly wanted to go to the beach at this hour, or sleep for a bit longer. Being an exchange student, I always say yes to every opportunity.........so I kept sleeping. I know, shame on me. But until you've lived in a completely foreign land for 17 days, and e v e r y   s i n g l e   h o u r during those 17 days you had to try and explain yourself, and attempt to understand those around you, in an unfamiliar tounge.......tell me you wouldn't have chosen to sleep as well.

Right. So. Slept in until 9. Woot, I know, late stuff for a Saturday. I had breakfast with my host dad and bro-bro, and then they left to take my brother to the gym, and my host dad to run some errands for his work. I actually was home alone, for the first time! I was terrified that the phone was going to ring and be my host parents, because I'm certainly not ready to answer the house phone yet, and they don't have caller ID, so I couldn't tell if it was them to answer it anyway! Everything ended up fine though. I did some laundry, sent in my RYE blog (soon, you should be able to read it here... http://www.ryeflorida.org/Students/OB/2011-12/Nicole-Spain.htm), and worked on my Spanish grammar book! I know, responsible student at your service! Afterwords, when my host family arrived back at the house where we had lunch, and played yet another round of Parchis. Marvelous game. Siesta time after that, and then I WENT SOMEWHERE WITH MY FRIENDS.

YEAH. WITH. MY. FRIENDS. What a wonderful thing to say. It sounds silly, I know, but I was terribly insecure that I would go the first couple of months without anyone wanting to talk to me, because I couldn't say much back..stupid Nicole.
Anyway. I met up with a group of people that I hang out with at school, and I had a super time! We met up at about 7:30, at this wonderful......complex of gaming type things, connected to a bowling alley! We went bowling first....AND I WON. Beginner's luck? I think no. After bowling, some of the group played Billiards, and the others watched. I was one of those others, and after to a much awaited dinner! We ended up going to Burger King, because the only other choices that we could get to were MacDonalds, or a Kebap place, that supposedly isn't very great. It was a really fun night, and for as much as I think I don't speak very well, no one can believe that I've only been here 17 days! I'm learning so much more around people my age than I am around my house, only because when I'm with completely new people, I get to start with the basics. My host family already knew my name, age, where I'm from, what my family's like, what Florida's like, etc. But I really enjoy meeting new people here (probably a great thing, since it happens just about every hour!) because I can practice my basic speaking skills.

Anway, now I'm off to learn a card game, that my host family has been putting off teaching me, because it's difficult to explain! They think I'm ready though. Also a cool feeling. Tomorrow (I suppose now it's later today), I am going to the beach in the morning, and in the afternoon I'll be venturing to the soccer fields to watch my friend Marta's practice!

Besos, Nícole

 The group! Alina, Marta, Yo, Sergio, Isaac, Natalia, Vanesa, Alberto.
 That's me, winning. ALWAYS.
The group again! Fabio, Marta, María, Yo, Vanesa, Davíd, Natalia, Isaac, and Sergio :)

No comments:

Post a Comment